The Highway   4 comments

The_Road_Less_Traveled_WSFa

 

The Things I Carry
Hitchhiking in Wyoming
Hitchhiking South of Grangeville, Idaho

4 responses to “The Highway

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great adventure. My husband hitchhiked all over the country when he was younger, just his pack on his back like you. Happy trails and safe journey. And many thanks for sharing the lovely Hopkins poems. So lovely to find.

  2. Hi there Tim, thanks for reading my little stories.

    You have quite the writing posted. So this is fiction or nonfiction?
    Nice to get a glimpse of a hitchhiker’s world.
    If this is nonfiction, what was your biggest lesson learned from the road? πŸ˜‰

    I’ll have a new post up soon, your feedback would be much appreciated! =)

    • My book “High Plains Drifter: A Hitchhiking Journey Across America” is non-fiction–it is autobiography. My short story “High Plains Drifter” (published by Ethos Magazine) is fiction based on a hitchhiking trip from Nebraska to California in 1983. The rest of my blog posts and stories on Digihitch are non-fiction.

      My biggest lesson from the road is to put your trust in the Lord. Also, hitchhiking teaches patience. I have met many great people on the road.

      I will try to read more of your posts/stories. Like I said before, you have an excellent ear for dialogue; I think you have a lot of talent as a writer. I am guessing you are a student. Where are you going to school?

  3. No I’m not a student, and have not been a student for a few years now but that doesn’t mean I don’t have the memories to inspire me πŸ˜‰
    I have been in school most of my life, so I guess I’m an expert of some sorts on student life. Will always be a student of life πŸ™‚

    Good words of wisdom from your experiences. “Put your trust in the Lord,” if that’s what you learned, then it was a good journey!

    Thank you for the kind words. I am doing my best to push out a few stories and poems to share with the world but the encouragement helps a great deal πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

