Back in California   1 comment

California Outback

Around the 23rd of August, I hitchhiked out of northeastern California and got a few rides past Redding, CA near Whiskeytown.  I camped out there that night and then hitchhiked to Arcata.  Arcata is probably the enviro-pagan capital of the United States.  I saw more homeless people there in an hour than in any place I have ever been.  I slept in a ditch that night near Trinidad—just north of Arcata.

The next day I hitchhiked through Crescent City to Brookings, Oregon.  While I was going through Crescent City this Christian picked me up.  He said something very interesting.  He said that either a U.S. Senator or a state senator from California said that she would rather see one human being die than have to cut down one tree.  No wonder things are so backward in parts of California.  Reminds me of Romans Chapter One:  when man began to worship the creation rather than the Creator, the Lord gave them over to a reprobate mind.

After sleeping on the beach north of Brookings, I hitchhiked north on U.S. 101 to Bandon.  I slept under a bridge north of Bandon that night.  The next day I hitchhiked to Coos Bay where I stayed at a Christian mission for the night.

It took me a couple of days to hitchhike from Bandon to Florence to Eugene through Madras to Pendleton, Oregon.  In Pendleton, I slept under a bridge north of town and stayed out of the rain.  It hadn’t rained in two months.  I made it to Dayton, Washington where I stayed with some friends for three days.  While I was there, I learned that my book High Plains Drifter was purchased by the local library.  So I went to the library there in Dayton and signed their copy of my book.

After Dayton, I hitchhiked through Moscow, Idaho and later made it to Kooskia that evening.  I stayed with some friends in Kooskia for a couple of days and then headed east into Montana.  I went through Missoula, Belgrade and West Yellowstone and ended up in Victor, Idaho where I stayed with some friends for two nights.

The next day I hitchhiked to Jackson, Wyoming and stayed at Jeremy and Felice’s place for one night.  The next week I hitchhiked to Bozeman, Montana and stayed with some friends for a night; I hitchhiked to Cody and then slept on the bleachers at a baseball field in Meeteetse, Wyoming; I stayed in Riverton at the shelter for three nights; I stayed with a friend in Dubois for one night.  After staying in Victor, Idaho and Jackson, Wyoming for two nights, I headed back north.

In one day, I got from Jackson to Helena, Montana where I slept on that hill just south of the library.  The next day I made it to Missoula and Lolo where these three Christians picked me up and let me camp out with them for a night; we had some really good fellowship.  The next day I made it to Kooskia, Idaho.

After Kooskia, I hitchhiked through Lewiston and then through Walla Walla, Washington and Pendleton, Oregon.  I slept outside a few miles west of Pilot Rock, Oregon.  The next day I got a ride from Pilot Rock through John Day to Burns, Oregon.  I got to Riley and walked south a couple of miles and then got a ride with a couple of Christians to Lakeview where they let me stay at the driver’s sister’s camper.

The next morning, I got a ride to New Pine Creek, California.  I walked a few miles south and got a ride with a guy named Jesse.  We drove to Alturas where he had to run a couple of errands.  He then drove me to where John and Susie live and bought a copy of my book, High Plains Drifter.  It is good to be back in this part of California.

One response to “Back in California

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: New Camaldoli | The Road

Leave a Reply

