The Resurrection, Immortal Diamond   1 comment

 

” . . .the Resurrection,
A heart’s-clarion! Away grief’s gasping, ‘ joyless days, dejection.
Across my foundering deck shone
A beacon, an eternal beam. ‘ Flesh fade, and mortal trash
Fall to the residuary worm; ‘ world’s wildfire, leave but ash:
In a flash, at a trumpet crash,
I am all at once what Christ is, ‘ since he was what I am, and
This Jack, joke, poor potsherd, ‘ patch, matchwood, immortal
diamond,
Is immortal diamond.”

–Gerard Manley Hopkins

Posted April 8, 2012 by Tim Shey in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One response to “The Resurrection, Immortal Diamond

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. An Easter memory, 1986.

    Dreams from the LORD 2003-2006
    29 December 2004

    When the Lord healed me of manic-depression in January of 1986, I came home and told my parents. Their reaction was very unfavorable. My dad began to mock me and make fun of me because I told him that I was going off my medication. I had been on lithium and some anti-psychotic, which didn’t do me much good because manic-depression is a spiritual problem (demonic bondage) and not a chemical problem or chemical imbalance. Depression is a sin problem: repent of the sin and the Lord will heal you.

    The rejection and cruel mocking of my dad was constant till on Easter week of 1986—Thursday, Friday and Saturday—I had the wounds of Christ in my hands, my feet, my side and around my head. You could not see the wounds, but there was constant, hot, searing pain in my hands, feet, side and there was a circle of pain around the top of my head. On Easter Sunday, the pain ceased. In April 1986, I left the Shey farm permanently.

Leave a Reply

