Chris McCandless Revisited   6 comments

Chris McCandless

Dreams from the LORD 2007-2010
15 August 2010

Four days ago (11 August), I was hitchhiking in Idaho and this guy picked me up. He told me that he went to school at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia; he graduated in 1994. So I asked him about Chris McCandless (Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer) (McCandless went to school at Emory).

This guy said that he was three years behind McCandless in school. After McCandless’ body was discovered in Alaska (1992), he was in an English class (in 1993?) with a professor that had taught McCandless a few years previous. The professor had the class study some of McCandless’ papers.

This guy told the professor and the class that he thought McCandless showed a lot of hubris or suburban hubris when he tried to live in the wilderness of Alaska; he thought that McCandless was not well-prepared to live on his own. The professor and the rest of the class reacted very negatively to this guy when he used the word “hubris.” This guy ended up getting a C- in the class.

Hubris: “n. [Gk., violence] Excessive pride: ARROGANCE.”
Webster’s II New Riverside University Dictionary

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
Book Review:  High Plains Drifter
Into the Wild (2007) (Tragedy, Epiphany and Closure)
Chris McCandless on 20/20 (1997)
The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless (Amazon.com)
Domestic violence at the heart of ‘Into the Wild’
The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless

_____

I just discovered a couple of days ago that someone is trying to sell my manuscript (High Plains Drifter: A Hitchhiking Journey Across America) on Ebay.

I got a ride from Lolo, Montana to Orofino, Idaho on U.S. 12—I rode in the back of a pickup. I walked to the library in Orofino and googled “Tim Shey hitchhiker” just for the heck of it. One of the results was “Hitchhiking America/ Hiker Rage”, so I clicked-on to it. I was surprised to see that someone was trying to sell my manuscript.

I thought it was pretty funny.

High Plains Drifter typescript
An American Pilgrim:  Some Reflections on High Plains Drifter
Roots
Into the Steel
The Life of a Hobo
Hitchhiking Stories from Digihitch

6 responses to “Chris McCandless Revisited

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Tim! How can you be so calm about this? (The Spirit of the Lord must be REAL strong in you…!) So often times they remove stuff or add to your writing, completely changing the writing, or sometimes even ending up negating the cause of Christ in the end. I pray they at least did not change one word of your testimony…

  2. I really don’t think about that. First of all, the manuscript has a copyright. Second, it was God’s will that I make photocopies of the “High Plains Drifter” manuscript and pass it out to people that I met on the road. In my wildest dreams, I never really thought that it would be published some day. People steal copyrighted material all the time. We need to hitchhike by faith and not by sight.

    I just thought it was SO funny that someone was actually trying to sell my manuscript on Ebay–as if my manuscript was some sort of classic literary piece like Shakespeare or John Milton. What I am curious about is how this individual got a hold of the manuscript: did they pick me up hitchhiking someplace? did they get the manuscript from someone else who picked me up? was it smuggled into their state by foreign agents posing as used car salesmen? was it part of an arms deal gone bad? This is what I think about.

  3. Pingback: 2012 Annual Report « The Road

  4. Pingback: Fairbanks Bus 142 | The Road

  5. Pingback: Hailey, Idaho | The Road

Leave a Reply

