As a Thief in the Night   2 comments

2-peter_3-10

Dreams from the LORD 2003-2006
12 July 2005

Revelation 16: 15: “Behold, I come as a thief. Blessed is he that watcheth, and keepeth his garments, lest he walk naked, and they see his shame.”

Behold I come as a thief; I come as a thief in the night. God’s judgment on sinners: unrepentant sinners. If we choose life (abide in the Tree of Life), we will not walk naked. If we choose death (the Knowledge of Good and Evil), we will walk naked and the wrath of God rests upon us.

If I am in sin, I am cut off from God. So when God visits me, He seems like a stranger to me, like a thief to me. What friend would steal from a friend? It is more likely that a man would steal from a stranger. If God is strange to me, He can only come as a thief, because I don’t know when He is coming. If I abide in Christ, I am not estranged from Him: He is with me right here, right now: He is no stranger. He is no thief–He is my Friend. My sheep hear my voice and they follow me.

Abraham was intimate with God; Abraham was a friend of God. The Lord told Abraham of the coming destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah and Abraham’s intercession saved Lot, who was righteous, but was not intimate with God. The men of Sodom and Gomorrah did not know of the coming destruction because they rejected God, they were cut off from God and His intimate communion or conversation. When the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah came, the Lord came as a thief in the night. A thief is a stranger. The Lord was a stranger to Sodom and Gomorrah because they were naked with sin (shame).

I come as a thief in the night. Night is the power of sin. At the height (or depth) of sin is the darkest time of night–and this is when God’s judgment comes. “I come as a thief in the night” is another phrase for God’s judgment on sin.

Revelation Chapter 16 speaks much of God’s judgment. Revelation 16: 1: ” . . . and pour out the vials of the wrath of God upon the earth.” Revelation 16: 8: ” . . . and power was given unto him to scorch men with fire.” Revelation 16: 10: “And the fifth angel poured out his vial upon the seat of the beast; and his kingdom was full of darkness; and they gnawed their tongues for pain.” Revelation 16: 19: ” . . . and great Babylon came in remembrance before God, to give unto her the cup of the wine of the fierceness of his wrath.”

I come as a thief in the night.

2 responses to “As a Thief in the Night

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Jackson, Wyoming Fire « The Road

  2. Pingback: 2012 Annual Report « The Road

Leave a Reply

