A Prophetess from Minnesota   3 comments

The Prophetess Deborah

Dreams from the LORD 2003-2006
18 December 2004

Somewhere in December of 1991 some friends of mine invited me to some Pentecostal church in Marshalltown, Iowa. That Sunday a prophetess from Minnesota gave the sermon. She was originally from Greece. After the sermon, she walked through the people gathered in the church and prophesied over every one of them. When she came to me she said, “You have a message to give.” I didn’t think about it much at the time: if it (the prophecy) was from the Lord, fine; if it wasn’t from the Lord, fine.

It wasn’t until 1998 that the Lord told me that her prophecy came to pass in 1997 when my two poems “A Prophet’s Eyes” and “Shiloh” were published in Ethos magazine. I believe “Shiloh” disturbed a lot of people. “Shiloh” was absolutely inspired by (dictated to me by) the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit would wake me up in the middle of the night and I would have to write down several more verses—that happened for three nights. The great miracle about the whole thing is that the Lord told me to submit these two poems to Ethos, which is a secular magazine, and they were published. Ethos is published by the Journalism Department at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.

Shiloh
A Prophet’s Eyes
New Jerusalem and New Shiloh
.
_____
.

Shiloh
By Tim Shey

Brutal deathdance;
My eyes weep blood.
Pharisees smile like vipers,
They laugh and mock their venom:
Blind snakes leading
The deaf and dumb multitude.

Where are my friends?
The landscape is dry and desolate.
They have stretched my shredded body
On this humiliating tree.

The hands that healed
And the feet that brought good news
They have pierced
With their fierce hatred.

The man-made whip
That opened up my back
Preaches from a proper pulpit.
They sit in comfort:
That vacant-eyed congregation.
The respected, demon-possessed reverend
Forks his tongue
Scratching itchy ears
While Cain bludgeons
Abel into silence.

My flesh in tattered pieces
Clots red and cold and sticks
To the rough-hewn timber
That props up my limp, vertical carcase
Between heaven and earth.
My life drips and puddles
Below my feet,
As I gaze down dizzily
On merciless eyes and dagger teeth.

The chapter-and-versed wolves
Jeer and taunt me.
Their sheepwool clothing
Is stained black with the furious violence
Of their heart of stone.
They worship me in lip service,
But I confess,
I never knew them
(Though they are my creation).

My tongue tastes like ashes:
It sticks to the roof of my mouth.
I am so thirsty.
This famine is too much for me.
The bulls of Bashan have bled me white.
Papa, into your hands
I commend my Spirit.

Ethos
February/March 1997
Iowa State University

Genesis 49: 10: “The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be.”

3 responses to “A Prophetess from Minnesota

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘Shiloh’ was one of my favorites…

  2. Thank you, Dunamis. “Shiloh” was dictated to me by the Holy Ghost—it was one of the most supernatural things that has ever happened in my life. “Shiloh” reads like Psalm 22.

  3. Pingback: Shiloh | The Road

Leave a Reply

