Isaac Penington Quote   Leave a comment

penington

Prisoner for the TESTIMONY OF TRUTH, (for could I have denied TRUTH,
I might have avoided the SNARE), at Reading Jail

The Bows of the Mighty are broken; and they that stumbled are girded with Strength. 1 Sam 2:4

1672

“For we are the circumcision, which worship God in the Spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh.” It is a precious thing to witness this scripture fulfilled in the heart; to experience that there, which inwardly circumcises, which cuts off the foreskin of the heart, which lies over it and veils it, until it is cut off by the inward appearance of the life and power of the Lord Jesus Christ inwardly revealed. Then when this is done, I can truly and sensibly say, I am a Jew inward. How so? How can that is proved? Why, I am inwardly circumcised. I have felt that within which circumcises the heart, and have borne the inward pain and cutting thereof, and am circumcised by it. That which stood between me and the Lord is cut off, the veil has been taken away, my stiff-necked and rebellious nature to God removed, the wall of separation is inwardly broken down, and now I am in true unity of Spirit and communion with my God, even with the Father, and the Son, in that One Holy Spirit by which they are One.

The Holy Truth Defended

Posted January 21, 2013 by Tim Shey in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

