Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel   11 comments

Jacob wrestling with the angel

Jacob wrestling with the angel

High Plains Drifter:  A Hitchhiking Journey Across America
By Tim Shey

Excerpt from Chapter Seven:

Sometime in July 1998, the Lord wanted me to take a bus to San Luis Obispo, California.  Of course, it seemed to make not a whole lot of sense, so I said, why not?  I took the bus from Ames [Iowa] and went through Denver then LA and ended up in San Luis Obispo.  I slept in a motel the first night.  The second night I slept on a hillside just outside the city.  I was in a Burger King and the presence of God came down on me heavily and I believe the Lord was telling me to go to Santa Fe.  So I got a bus ticket to Santa Fe.

I touched down in Santa Fe in the evening and walked to a motel room and I was not a happy camper.  I have wrestled with the Lord before and I was really wrestling with Him now.  I just couldn’t understand why I had to take a bus here and take a bus there, hitchhike here and hitchhike there.  Later, I calmed down and realized that God’s thoughts are higher than my thoughts and that I have shared my faith with lots of people on the road.  So I might as well shut up and put up.  I am here to take orders.  The Lord tells me to jump and I ask how high.

I started hitchhiking north out of Santa Fe on the road to Taos.  I got a few rides to Dixon and stopped by to see Mike and Pat Johnson who owned La Chirapada Winery.  I met them back in 1984.  Nobody was home, so I continued north.

This guy picked me up north of Dixon and drove me north of Taos.  When he dropped me off, he shook my hand and said that his name was Israel and that he was Jewish.  He drove off and I stood there semi-stunned:  that is the first time I have ever heard someone called Israel (except Jacob in the Old Testament, of course).

I walked up the highway for a mile and this older guy picked me up.  He drove to his house just north of Questa and I said I would keep on hitchhiking.  I stood there for an hour and then it started to rain cats and dogs.  The guy ran out of his house and told me to get inside because of the rain.  We sat down and watched some TV.  We watched some Spanish TV and then a Christian station.  He told me his wife and daughter were gone and that I could sleep on the couch if I wanted.  The church he attended was just up the road and I was free to come along.

We went to church the next morning—it was a small Pentecostal church.  The text that the preacher used was from Genesis 32: 28:  “And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel:  for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men and hast prevailed.”  My jaw just about hit the floor.  Is God’s timing perfect or what?  Israel.  Jacob.  Israel.  Lord, what are you trying to tell me?  Remember the guy yesterday whose name was Israel?  Later I looked up the name Israel in Harper’s Bible Dictionary and it said, “Israel:  May God strive, contend or rule.”

After the service, I got a ride into southern Colorado and, later, into southwest Kansas.  This Christian family picked me up outside Garden City and took me to Cimarron where they let me stay for supper.  The husband drove me to Dodge City and we had a little prayer before I got out.  I stayed in a motel that night.

The next day I walked out of Dodge five miles and this truck driver picked me up and drove me all the way to Hutchinson.  He was a Vietnam vet and had married and divorced twice.  He said something interesting:  he said that if Jesus ever came back, he would hitchhike all over the place just to take a look around before our Father let Him be the King of kings.  I thought that was pretty unique.  You never know who some of these hitchhikers were; they could be angels—or ex-sawmen.

[Genesis 32: 24-30:  “And Jacob was left alone; and there wrestled a man with him until the breaking of the day.  And when he saw that he prevailed not against him, he touched the hollow of his thigh; and the hollow of Jacob’s thigh was out of joint, as he wrestled with him.  And he said, Let me go, for the day breaketh. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me.  And he said unto him, What is thy name? And he said, Jacob.  And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed.  And Jacob asked him, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, thy name. And he said, Wherefore is it that thou dost ask after my name? And he blessed him there.  And Jacob called the name of the place Peniel: for I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.”

Hosea 12: 3-5:  “He took his brother by the heel in the womb, and by his strength he had power with God:  Yea, he had power over the angel, and prevailed: he wept, and made supplication unto him: he found him in Bethel, and there he spake with us;  Even the LORD God of hosts; the LORD is his memorial.”]

Intercession
High Plains Drifter:  A Hitchhiking Journey Across America
Clint Eastwood’s film High Plains Drifter (1973)
A.W. Tozer:  Sacrifice is No Substitute for Obedience
Change of name
Jewish Life After Death
He Walks With a Limp (Jacob)
Jacob and Shechem–The Remarkable Positive Spiritual Experience
A Tale of Two Cities

11 responses to “Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful how God works!!!! God bless you my friend!

  2. So many things have happened to me on the road where the timing was so perfect, there is no way you could plan it that way. God has a way of bringing people, places and things together so well. When you see what the Lord has revealed to you, all you can say is that God is all powerful and that His wisdom fills the whole earth in spite of all the sin.

    The key thing for us is to OBEY THE VOICE OF THE LORD. The Lord’s thoughts are higher than our thoughts. We may not see the outcome, but we need to obey and live by faith and know that the Lord has everything under control.

    You may even have a wrestling match or two.

    • I have a bad habit of thinking I know what is best for me so often that I have to continually remind myself, that it is His will not my will!

  3. One big thing about all the hitchhiking the Lord has had me do all these years: it really breaks you of your self-will. We are called to take up our cross and die daily. The Holy Ghost can flow much more freely through a broken vessel (emptied of self) than through a prideful, willful vessel. Dying to self is not pleasant, but it needs to be done so that the Lord can work through our lives and be a beacon of light in a dark and sinful world.

    “I have come to do Thy will, O Lord.”

    “My Father works and I work.”

  4. What’s a sawman?

  5. That’s an inside joke. I used to work at a lumber yard in Ames, Iowa for a number of years. I did a lot of work in the sawshop, so everybody called me Sawman.

  6. Excellent story.
    One time me and my friend were seriously distraught, we were ministering to the mentally ill-I felt that God had taken us out for awhile. We missed the ministry. We were crying out of loneliness of not being with our friends.

    So, one AM the spirit of God woke me up and tole me “Santa Rosa” which is in Cali-so, we rented out a car which was totally prophectic b/c the spirit of the LORD had given me a word about owning a sports car, (the car we rented was a super snazzy 1999 Mustang, bran new, in 2000, I was blessed with a 25K inheritance and bought a 2001 Hyandai Tiburon.)

    ANYWAY, we went to Santa Rosa and stopped in front of this little Lutheran church, The spirit had told me to go to this church. When we walked in, they were playing that song “Hear my cry O God, attend unto my prayer, from the ends of the earth will I cry out to thee, and when my heart is over-whelmed, lead me to the rock, that is higher than I”
    I was weeping, the spirit touched me so…

    We went back totally refreshed… (the Lutheran Pastor was totally CHARISMATIC and wonderful, he blessed us with a powerful anointing of prayer.)

    I know I come across crass. But, I am a SOFTY at heart 😀

  7. It is amazing what the Lord does—the way He puts us in the right place at the right time.

    I rarely go to church on Sunday, but once in a while I will end up in a church and the message that the preacher is giving is just what I needed at the time. And it doesn’t have to be in a church building. Someone may pick me while I am hitchhiking and we will have the best fellowship.

    One time I was walking somewhere in northern Oklahoma and I was tired of walking and hitchhiking–which means I was developing a really bad attitude. This car pulled over to give me a ride. The guy in the car was a youth pastor in the next town in Kansas. He took me out to eat and told me that I could stay at his place for the night. He invited me to a church service that evening. The evangelist who preached that evening spoke about Elijah meeting Elisha while Elisha was plowing with his twelve yoke of oxen. From that point on, Elisha followed Elijah. The theme of the message was being led by the Holy Ghost; it really blessed me to pieces. The next day I hitchhiked to Iowa.

    “Those who are led by the Spirit shall be called sons.”

  8. Pingback: HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER | Written in Blood

  9. Pingback: A Letter from Israel | The Road

Leave a Reply

