The St. Louis Crossing Independent Methodist Church   4 comments

hope_in

Hope, Indiana

I believe it was back in 1999 when I was hitchhiking in Indiana.  I was probably on Highway 46 headed due east from Bloomington.  I was walking down the highway when this high school kid picked me up.

We started talking and he asked me where I was going.  I told him that I thought I was heading into Ohio.  I told him that I was a Christian.  He said that his father was a pastor and that maybe his parents would like to meet me.

So we drove north to Indianapolis where his family lived.

He walked into their home and told his mom, “Hey mom, I just picked up a hitchhiker and brought him home.”

His mom replied, “Yeah, right.”

I met his mom, and later, his dad and his younger brother.  I felt at home right away.

That evening (it was Saturday) his dad asked me if I would like to give a message to their church.  I said that I would be honored.

So on Sunday morning, we drove to Hope, Indiana to the Saint Louis Crossing Independent Methodist Church.  It was a country church.  I think there might have been fifty or sixty people at the service.

When it was time for me to give the message, I walked up to the pulpit, opened the Bible and turned to the Book of Acts .  If I remember correctly, I preached about the time Paul wanted to go into Asia, but the Holy Spirit forbade him. Later, Paul had a vision about a man from Macedonia.*  So that is how the Gospel came to Greece and eventually other parts of southern Europe.

After the service, I met some very friendly people who gave me some offerings of money for my travels.  I was very grateful.

I ended up staying with that family for two nights and then hit the road.  I hitchhiked to Madison, Indiana and then across the Ohio River into Kentucky.

Paul wanted to go into Asia, but the Lord did not permit it.  I wanted to go into Ohio, but the Lord did not permit it.  It is a good thing to be flexible in our daily walk with God.  The Lord has the final say on everything.

“For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.” (Romans 8: 14)

*Acts 16: 6-10:  “Now when they had gone throughout Phrygia and the region of Galatia, and were forbidden of the Holy Ghost to preach the word in Asia,  After they were come to Mysia, they assayed to go into Bithynia: but the Spirit suffered them not. And they passing by Mysia came down to Troas.  And a vision appeared to Paul in the night; There stood a man of Macedonia, and prayed him, saying, Come over into Macedonia, and help us.  And after he had seen the vision, immediately we endeavoured to go into Macedonia, assuredly gathering that the Lord had called us for to preach the gospel unto them.”

A Providential Ride to Manhattan, Kansas

4 responses to “The St. Louis Crossing Independent Methodist Church

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an interresting story. I can’t believe people still pick up hitch hikers. That seems so dangerous. But glad you were ok and being moved by the Holy Spirit. Great missions story like in our old days on the missionfield.

  2. It was an act of faith to walk down the road and hitchhike. It was an act of faith for that high school kid to give me a ride. Sometimes an act of faith plus another act of faith equals a message from a church pulpit.

  3. Pingback: 5/5/2013 Proclaim the Good News | ForeWords

  4. Pingback: A Providential Ride to Manhattan, Kansas | The Road

Leave a Reply

