A Few Days in the Life of a Hitchhiker   3 comments

TV_03

Tetonia, Idaho

A few days ago, I hitchhiked from Riverton through Dubois to Jackson, Wyoming.  I then got a couple of rides over Teton Pass to Driggs, Idaho.

I was standing on the side of the road in Driggs when this pickup pulled over.  I got in and a guy named Steve drove me to Tetonia.  Steve said that I could stay for supper.  I met his girlfriend, Lynette.  I was able to shower and wash my clothes.  They also gave me a big supper; I was very grateful.

Steve, Lynette and myself had some intense fellowship.  Steve told me that he never picks up hitchhikers, but that when he saw me, he had to pull over and give me a ride.  Lynette told me that she took a lot of drugs in her younger days and the memory of those days sometimes haunted her.  Recently, the Lord kept showing her the numbers “747”.  Finally, she came across Luke 7: 47 in the Bible:

“Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.”

I told Lynette that if she abides in Christ, those past sins are gone because she is washed in the Blood of Jesus.

Steve and Lynette let me stay at their place that night.  The next day I got a ride from Tetonia to Bozeman, Montana.  From Bozeman, I got two rides to Big Timber on I-90.  From Big Timber, I walked around four miles east and then got a ride to Columbus with a guy who was going back to work in the oil patch in North Dakota.  I slept near the Yellowstone River in some pasture south of Columbus that night; the dew was very heavy.

The next day I hitchhiked through Absarokee and Roscoe to Red Lodge.  There were a lot of people on motorcycles that day–maybe they were going to the biker rally in Sturgis, South Dakota.

From Red Lodge I got a couple of rides to Cody, Wyoming.  My last ride that day was with an older lady from Cody to Thermopolis.  I slept outside someplace on the south side of town; even though it had been very warm that day, it cooled down very well that night.

This morning I walked two miles and got a ride with a pastor from Thermopolis; his name was David.  We had some good fellowship all the way to Shoshoni.  He was going to visit some friends in a hospital in Greeley, Colorado.  Before David dropped me off in Shoshoni, we had a short time of prayer and then I hit the road.

Sometimes the Lord foreshadows something that He is going to do.  When I got dropped off in Thermop, I went to fill up my water bottle.  These two guys at the gas station walked up to me and kicked me down a couple of bucks.  They wished me the best in my travels.  The one guy had done some hitchhiking a few years ago.  I then walked a few blocks and these two guys in a car pulled over and talked with me for a few minutes–they asked me about my hitchhiking.  It was very positive.

The Presence of God was very strong while I slept under the stars last night.  I knew that the Lord was up to something.  This morning, David and I had a good talk about certain scriptures and the things of God.  It was very edifying.  I am very grateful how the Lord puts people in my path.

Luke 10: 16:  “He that heareth you heareth me; and he that despiseth you despiseth me; and he that despiseth me despiseth him that sent me.”

A Week in the Life of a Hitchhiker

_____

“Don’t be overwise; fling yourself straight into life, without deliberation; don’t be afraid – the flood will bear you to the bank and set you safe on your feet again.”

–Fyodor Dostoyevsky

3 responses to “A Few Days in the Life of a Hitchhiker

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Capture The Moment — Hitchhiker’s Love Flower | Becoming is Superior to Being

  2. Mr. Shey , if you are passing through Ruidoso new mexico where i live I could fill you in on the details about the earthquake forwarning I had for Paso robles California the same place where you had the earthquake dream in 2010. may the lord be with you as you travel.

  3. Charles: Maybe you could write the details on a comment to the California Earthquake post that I had.

    “California Earthquake”
    https://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/california-earthquake/

Leave a Reply

