50 Year Old Prophecy from Tozer   6 comments

prophets

PROPHETIC WORD FROM 50 YEARS AGO – A. W. TOZER

“Let me go out on a limb a little bit and prophesy. I see the time coming
when all the holy men whose eyes have been opened by the Holy Spirit will
desert worldly Evangelicalism, one by one. The house will be left desolate
and there will not be a man of God, a man in whom the Holy Spirit dwells,
left among them.

“I hear Jesus saying . . . Matt 23: 37-38: ‘O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the one killing
the prophets and stoning those who are sent to her, how often would I have
gathered your children together, even as a hen gathers her chicks under her
wings, and you would not! Behold, your house is left to you desolate.’

“As the Church now stands, the man who sees this condition of worldly
evangelicalism is written off as somewhat fanatical. But the day is coming
when the house will be left desolate and there will not be a man of God
among them. I would like to live long enough to watch this develop and see
how things turn out. I would like to live to see the time when the men and
woman of God—holy, separated and spiritually enlightened—walk out of the
evangelical church and form a group of their own; when they get off the
sinking ship and let her go down in the brackish and worldliness and form a
new ark to ride out the storm.”

The above quote was from A Call To The Remnant

O Jerusalem, Jerusalem
Scribes and Prophets
Bankruptcy of the inner man

_____

Shiloh
By Tim Shey

Brutal deathdance;
My eyes weep blood.
Pharisees smile like vipers,
They laugh and mock their venom:
Blind snakes leading
The deaf and dumb multitude.

Where are my friends?
The landscape is dry and desolate.
They have stretched my shredded body
On this humiliating tree.

The hands that healed
And the feet that brought good news
They have pierced
With their fierce hatred.

The man-made whip
That opened up my back
Preaches from a proper pulpit.
They sit in comfort:
That vacant-eyed congregation.
The respected, demon-possessed reverend
Forks his tongue
Scratching itchy ears
While Cain bludgeons
Abel into silence.

My flesh in tattered pieces
Clots red and cold and sticks
To the rough-hewn timber
That props up my limp, vertical carcase
Between heaven and earth.
My life drips and puddles
Below my feet,
As I gaze down dizzily
On merciless eyes and dagger teeth.

The chapter-and-versed wolves
Jeer and taunt me.
Their sheepwool clothing
Is stained black with the furious violence
Of their heart of stone.
They worship me in lip service,
But I confess,
I never knew them
(Though they are my creation).

My tongue tastes like ashes:
It sticks to the roof of my mouth.
I am so thirsty.
This famine is too much for me.
The bulls of Bashan have bled me white.
Papa, into your hands
I commend my Spirit.

Ethos
February/March 1997
Iowa State University

Genesis 49: 10: “The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be.”

Shiloh
A Prophet’s Eyes
Locusts and Wild Honey

6 responses to “50 Year Old Prophecy from Tozer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tim that is an amazing poem!!! Heart wrenching and painful, but sadly so true. This is happening right now. I, personally, have been pulled out of all Earthly “churches” till Jesus returns. God bless you my brother:)

  2. Thank you, Sharon. “Shiloh” was dictated to me by the Holy Ghost back in 1996. I have had writings that were inspired by the Holy Ghost, but “Shiloh” was dictated to me—I think that is the only time in my life that that has happened.

    Jesus is the author and finisher of our faith—not worldly, man-made churches.

  3. Dreams from the LORD 2007-2010
    10 February 2009

    Last night I had a dream where I was reading this newspaper. In small headlines I saw something like “LaVerle Van Houten is in Peru.”

    Dreams from the LORD 2007-2010
    1 March 2009

    Two days ago, I hitchhiked from Helena, Montana to Murdo, South Dakota. Yesterday, I hitchhiked from Murdo to Chadron, Nebraska. It was around O degrees F when I started walking south out of Murdo on U.S. 83. I walked around four miles and then got a ride to Mission, South Dakota. Ice had formed on my eyebrows, so I was very grateful to finally get a ride.

    After Mission, I walked south a few miles and got a ride in the back of a pickup to Valentine, Nebraska. I checked my e-mail at the public library in Valentine and then started walking west on U.S. 20. I then got a ride to Chadron.

    On the way east from Montana, I thought, “It would be great if LaVerle saw me walking down the road.” I got dropped off on the west side of Chadron and walked over a half mile heading west when guess who picked me up? LaVerle.

    The Lord works in strange ways. I told LaVerle that this is the fourth time he has picked me up. He just got back from a mission trip to Peru. He flew back to Houston, then to Denver and drove back to western Nebraska the day before. LaVerle was in Peru for a month. He drove me to a Taco John’s restaurant and bought me something to eat. We talked for quite some time.

    One of the important things that LaVerle said was that the Lord told him not to go back to New York City. LaVerle has been to New York several times on mission trips. He told me that a number of prophets have pulled out of New York because people aren’t repenting of sin and destruction is coming.

    I told LaVerle that the Lord had me hitchhike from Ames, Iowa to New York City (actually, I hitchhiked to New Hamburg, New York and took a train the rest of the way into Manhattan) in 1998. I visited David Wilkerson’s church at Times Square. I was in the sanctuary for two hours and I started weeping in the Spirit. I left the church building (formerly the Mark Hellinger Theater) and the Holy Ghost fell powerfully on me. I walked to the Hudson River. I believe the Lord was telling me not to go back to David Wilkerson’s church. That evening I went back to the seven o’clock service and the Lord chastened me for being there. Something must have been out of order; the leadership of that church (not necessarily David Wilkerson) may have been resisting the Holy Ghost.

    I can go to a church of believers, but if they reject the power of the Holy Ghost, then it is a sin for me to be there. “Come out from among them and be ye separate.” “They had a form of Godliness, but denied the power thereof; from such turn away.” “Obedience is better than sacrifice.”

    I crawled into a sleeper of a tractor-trailer outside of Chadron and slept there last night. It got down to 20 degrees F, but it felt colder.

  4. What a gift you have in poetry, Tim! Very moving. I am not gifted there at all… Always appreciate the Tozer quotes. Are you familiar with T.Austin-Sparks? He is one that Watchman Nee read much of; I have a link to his library site as well as Watchman Nee’s on The Lord Is With Us.

Leave a Reply

