Helena to Hamilton, Montana   4 comments

hitchhiking-stories

Today I hitchhiked from Helena to Hamilton, Montana.  I stayed at the God’s Love Shelter in Helena overnight.  It was very cold when I walked out of Helena this morning—it was probably a few degrees below zero F.  I got a ride to Missoula from Helena.  I went to the library in Missoula.  Then I walked across town to the south side near the river where I got a ride in the back of a pickup to Lolo.  From Lolo I got a ride to Victor.

I was standing on the side of the road just south of Victor when this guy told me to come inside his chiropractic office (Sage Chiropractic Office).  His name was Dr. Allen McClintick and he gave me a cup of hot tea to drink.  I met his secretary and we had a nice chat.  They were both Christians:  she was a missionary to New Guinea for a number of years and Allen was a Navy SEAL in the late 1960s and 1970s.

My ride from Victor to Hamilton was with a guy named Nate.  He was a Christian and he knew someone (Corey) who picked me up in August of last year.  Nate dropped me off at the Bitterroot Public Library in Hamilton where I did some work on my two blogs.

I was on the catalog computer and I discovered that the Bitterroot Public Library recently purchased my second book The First Time I Rode a Freight Train & other hitchhiking stories.  That was a pleasant surprise.  I remember telling the staff at the library about my book last fall.  As far as I know, I have books in five public libraries in Montana (Hamilton, Columbus, Belgrade, West Yellowstone and Forsyth).

Author
The First Time I Rode a Freight Train & other hitchhiking stories
Guided by the Thumb
Amazon’s Tim Shey Page

4 responses to “Helena to Hamilton, Montana

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know the people you spoke of in the Victor area.

  2. Esther: If you see Dr. McClintick and his secretary, say hello from me.

  3. We gave Tim a ride to Lolo last night from Missoula. What a nice man.

Leave a Reply

