A Man’s Foes Shall Be They Of His Own Household   2 comments

Bonnie and Clyde, 1933

Several days ago I was walking on I-90 heading west from Belgrade, Montana.  I walked around three miles and this pickup pulled over.  I got in the pickup and met a young lady named Melissa.

She drove me from Belgrade through Butte and Missoula, Montana over Lolo Pass and dropped me off at my friends’ place near Kooskia, Idaho.  It was a good, long ride.

Melissa and I had a great conversation.  She told me that she was raised in West Virginia and that she left home at eighteen and ended up out west in Nevada.  She soon met her husband, they got married and now she is a stay-at-home mom taking care of four children.

Melissa told me that she went through a lot of abuse from her alcoholic father. At a very young age, she wondered why she was put in that family.  Melissa said that her grandmother was a second cousin to Bonny Parker of Bonny and Clyde fame—outlaws back in the 1930s.  She said that she had to break away from the family curse (a criminal element) in her family.  Some families are so toxic, sometimes the best thing to do is to get away from your family, go some place else and start over.  Melissa is a Christian and it looks like the Lord is taking care of her and her family very well.

The Lord puts people in your path for a reason.  The day after Melissa dropped me off, I noticed a book on the shelf at my friends’ place in Kooskia.  The title was Sins of the Father by Eileen Franklin and William Wright; it took me three days to read.  I believe the Lord wanted me to read Sins of the Father for a reason, so I sent an email to Melissa and told her about the book.

Matthew 10: 34-39:  “Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.   For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.   And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household.   He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.   And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.   He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.”

Matthew 12: 46-50:  “While he yet talked to the people, behold, his mother and his brethren stood without, desiring to speak with him.   Then one said unto him, Behold, thy mother and thy brethren stand without, desiring to speak with thee.   But he answered and said unto him that told him, Who is my mother? and who are my brethren?   And he stretched forth his hand toward his disciples, and said, Behold my mother and my brethren!   For whosoever shall do the will of my Father which is in heaven, the same is my brother, and sister, and mother.”

Bonnie and Clyde
Sins of the Father
The Jerry Shey Family
Obedience:  The Bondage Breaker
Walkin’ Joe and the Midnight Marauders
The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless
Go Down Together: The True Untold Story of Bonnie and Clyde

2 responses to “A Man’s Foes Shall Be They Of His Own Household

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its good to hear from you brother! Amazing how our Daddy works huh? Stay safe my friend:) Yah bless.

  2. Pingback: Walkin’ Joe and the Midnight Marauders | The Road

Leave a Reply

