Mary Howgill Warning the People of England, 1660   Leave a comment

map_england_1660-18921-e1359844178986

England and Wales

This is from the website The Missing Cross to Purity:

The Vision of the Lord of Hosts, faithfully declared in his own time; and the Decree of the Lord God also Recorded. – by Mary Howgill

In the year 1660, in the second month thereof, I was at the town of Colchester at my friend’s house; and in the evening season, I went to my bed to take my rest in God, where refreshment from him I received to my soul, and also to my naturals, having at that time but little strength as to my natural life. So according to God’s will, and the mind of the Lord, I gave up my self, and lay down upon my bed, in God’s will and Word, in which Word I was kept and preserved.

After a little season, sweet sleep came upon me, and I was some hours in a deep and a calm sleep, which refreshed my naturals, and I was in the word of the living God, which did keep me and refresh my soul, and after a season did awake me.

The living God appeared unto me by vision, and showed me the dark, horrible, and miserable state that would come on this land of England, and on the people in it. He showed me a great cloud that spread over all the nation, and that there were many violent and bloody men in the cloud. As he showed me that the cloud would come upon the nation, so he showed me that it would break upon the nation; and the men of blood should fall in great fury and rage upon many, and do great violence to many.

Further, the Lord appeared to me in a vision, and he showed me a great and dark wood in these southward parts, and in the woods were many pits. In the pits were many beasts, which had many horns and sharp, and great jaws, and great paws also. There was among them one great beast, in bigness and fury above them all. These beasts had been long chained and fettered in the pits and woods of darkness, and they roared to be at liberty. It was shown to me that they would be greedy of their prey, even to the shedding of innocent blood, for which they had long thirsted.

After the Lord had shown me these things in the vision of the cloud, and that it should spread over the nation, and should break on the nation, and that the bloody men within would fall upon many with cruelty; then sorrow seized on my heart, and great grief upon my soul, and a great weight upon my body, which caused my lips to quiver, and my belly to tremble, and a cry ran through me, O Lord, what will you do with this land, or with your people therein, unto whom you have so largely manifested your name? O Lord, will  you hide your face from us, or take the light of your countenance from us, that has in so large a measure shined on us? Or will you allow these men of violence to bruise and destroy the bodies of them that bear your elect seed? Will you allow the beasts to come out of their pits, their chains to be broken, and their fetters to be unloosed, they being so greedy of prey?  Then the cry was in me, O Lord, slay not the righteous with the wicked. And a great trembling was upon me, and I was in great travail in spirit, soul, and body, for the whole Land of England, and I had little or no comfort, until I heard the Lord’s voice, who spoke unto me, and said: Fear not you, my Daughter, none of these things which I have shown unto you; but believe in my Name, made known unto you. Then I said: O Lord, who shall stand for you; or, who shall declare your name, or speak of your wonderful works, or of your great salvation by which you have worked, and brought wonderful and great things to pass, as in the years past? If you allow the cloud to come upon all, who then shall declare of it? Or, if you allow the night of darkness to spread over all, who then shall be able to work; or, who shall speak of your mighty Truth? Therefore, since I had upon my spirit a deep sense of the cruelty of those beasts, which where to be unchained and to come out of the pits of Darkness, I said: Arise, O Lord, and avenge your own cause, suffer not your name to be trodden down, or rooted out of this land of England, in which even above and beyond all other lands, you have so largely made your self manifest; do not allow it to be rooted out by the dragon and his followers. These were my Cries unto the Lord in the hour of deep suffering.

The Lord, who had shown me these things, also heard my cries; and he said, to my great satisfaction: Keep these things in your own breast, and seal these words in your own heart and wait upon me, said the living God, until I show you further, and until my appointed time, that I tell you to publish them abroad.

And further, the Lord said to my great satisfaction:

I will allow this violence to come, and the chains of the wild-beasts to be broken, that they may bow down a stiff-necked and a gain-saying [opposing] people, against me, and against my name. I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, that I may show my power upon every man and woman; and I will suffer the violent to go on in their violence, for the trying of the faith of my own people, unto whom I have made known my Kingdom, and entrusted them with my secrets, upon whom in the Light of my countenance will I shine, and they shall see the glory of my throne, and they shall magnify my name. And after the night of Apostasy, and after the dragon’s rage, my people shall bear a further testimony of my great and glorious name, and they shall leave a more clear and heavenly declaration upon record, than my servants heretofore have done, and it shall stand to ages, and in generations to come, that they may see how God manifested himself unto his people in a day of great suffering.

Blessed, Blessed are all who wait upon the living God, and hear what he says to them, either by revelation, by vision, or by prophecy; and blessed are they that in the Lord’s time either speak or write by revelation, by prophecy, or vision. And the time has already come, in which many prophecies, visions and revelations are already fulfilled, and are sealed up in him, who has revealed and made known himself by vision, as I have before-mentioned. The eternal God alone has sealed up many unto himself in his own seed, in which all the before mentioned ends. Blessed are all they that are in that state, for the blessed inheritance and crown of the Lord is assured unto them.

And now is the time of the Lord, in which he has required me to write what he showed me by vision, much of which has already come on this Land, and been fulfilled upon it, and that which is behind is near to be fulfilled. The cloud has spread over all, and violent men have done great violence, even unto God’s worshippers. Many have risen out of the pits, their chains having been broken, and their fetters loosed, which have held them many years. As many beasts as have gained their liberty, have been greedy of their prey, having long thirsted for the blood of the Saints; and many are yet to arise, whose chains shall be broken. He, whom the Lord showed me, the biggest among them all and greatest in fury, he shall arise the last out of the pit, and will be allowed to give one great push, and no more, which will be terrible; but the Lord will smite him, and the beasts that were loosed before him, and God will turn them together into the pit of darkness from where they arose, out of which they shall never arise again against the Lord or his heritage.

Now all dear Friends everywhere, dwell in God, the Father of Light, that you may all witness his dominion, so will he nourish you all, even as the true woman in the wilderness, for a time, times, and half a time. The Lord nourish you all, and feed you all with his own living Word, that you may all see the smoke of the pit vanish away, and the power thereof, (which has for many years arisen against the Lord and his People), trodden down by the living God. Wait all until the Lord’s time and hour be accomplished, in which you shall see violence put to an end, and also see the blessed state that I have before-mentioned. So in the blessed Truth I say to you farewell.

And now to you who have put out the candle of the Lord in yourselves, and have become altogether darkness, and have given your power wholly to the beast and his followers, you therefore shall feel the stroke of God’s hand, which will be dreadful to you; and under which you shall confess that the holy Prophets of the Lord did in years past deal faithfully with you, when they prophesied unto you what would come upon you. Oh hearken you people, for to you I write, through whom the nation has become miserable, and you yourselves have become slaves, and your name has become a stench in the nation, with him whom God has cut off before you. Has not your form of worship and the glory of it withered? Yes, even as the flower withers before the sun in the summer season, so has it withered away, and your gallant glory is now trampled upon by the dragon, unto whom you gave your power, and the memorial of it shall die and rot, even those whose name and memorial has already rotted. Listen, you, who put out the candle of the Lord in yourselves, with which you were once enlightened; mark what God has done to Oliver Cromwell, even for this cause, that he put out the candle of the Lord in himself.

And all you magistrates of this land who are now in authority. Oh! You have grieved the Lord, and highly provoked him to anger, by afflicting his children; and you have grieved our souls from time to time, and afflicted our bodies also, and have the blood of many as a guilt upon you. Oh this, I tell you, will bring the Lord’s judgment upon you by surprise, even as a thief in the night, will it break upon you when you are not aware. For you will not receive another warning from the Lord’s People, and you must know the stroke of God’s hand with them that proved rebellious before you, and when you feel the weight of that, you will then remember this warning.

From a lover of Truth and righteousness.

Mary Howgill

[England in the 17th Century looks like the United States in 2013]

Quaker Prophecies 
thelostkerryman
Apostasy—Isaac Penington
Veronica West:  March a Month of Divine Demarcation

_____

Shiloh
By Tim Shey

Brutal deathdance;
My eyes weep blood.
Pharisees smile like vipers,
They laugh and mock their venom:
Blind snakes leading
The deaf and dumb multitude.

Where are my friends?
The landscape is dry and desolate.
They have stretched my shredded body
On this humiliating tree.

The hands that healed
And the feet that brought good news
They have pierced
With their fierce hatred.

The man-made whip
That opened up my back
Preaches from a proper pulpit.
They sit in comfort:
That vacant-eyed congregation.
The respected, demon-possessed reverend
Forks his tongue
Scratching itchy ears
While Cain bludgeons
Abel into silence.

My flesh in tattered pieces
Clots red and cold and sticks
To the rough-hewn timber
That props up my limp, vertical carcase
Between heaven and earth.
My life drips and puddles
Below my feet,
As I gaze down dizzily
On merciless eyes and dagger teeth.

The chapter-and-versed wolves
Jeer and taunt me.
Their sheepwool clothing
Is stained black with the furious violence
Of their heart of stone.
They worship me in lip service,
But I confess,
I never knew them
(Though they are my creation).

My tongue tastes like ashes:
It sticks to the roof of my mouth.
I am so thirsty.
This famine is too much for me.
The bulls of Bashan have bled me white.
Papa, into your hands
I commend my Spirit.

Ethos
February/March 1997
Iowa State University

Genesis 49: 10: “The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be.”

Leave a comment