A.W. Tozer Quote   12 comments

tozer

A.W. Tozer

[4 November 2011]

This is my reply to a comment that was recently made on “A Dream About Egypt” [from my High Plains Drifter blog]:

The spiritual man judges all things. This is not judgmental and arrogant. We are called to judge righteous or spiritual judgment. A Christian that is not spiritual cannot judge spiritual things.

In my Christian walk, many sins have died out in my life. These sins do not beset me anymore—it is an overcoming life that we have in Christ. If people are not overcoming sin in their lives and they say that they have been saved for ten or more years, then I have a real problem with their salvation. It has been a long time since the Lord has convicted me of sin. This is the overcoming power of God in my life. Glory to God in the Highest!

Salvation is just one of many ministries in the Body of Christ. Salvation is not my ministry—unless you take into account that I am trying to save Christians from their milk bottles.

The Lord called me out of the church (church on Sunday) back in 1991. My life has to stand for something. My life would not glorify God if I continued to fellowship with lukewarm Christians when the Lord told me to separate myself from them.

“Come out from among them and be ye separate.”

There is a reason why John the Baptist camped out on the other side of the Jordan River. There is a reason why the Lord has had me hitchhike the highways of America these past 15 years. I meet all kinds of believers and unbelievers every day. Either people will feed off of my life in Christ or else they won’t. My life of obedience to the Lord IS the sermon.

If the Lord shows me judgment on America, then this is what I speak. “My Father works and I work.” I only do what I see my Father do.

“The fact is that, we are not producing saints. We are making converts to an effete type of Christianity, that bears little resemblance to that of the New Testament. The average so-called Bible Christian of our times is but a shallow display of true sainthood. Yet, we put millions of dollars behind ‘movements’ to perpetuate this lower form of religion and attack the man who dares to challenge the wisdom of it.”

–A.W. Tozer

Effete: “having lost character, courage, strength, stamina, or vitality.”

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary

A Dream About Egypt
Shiloh
A.W. Tozer:  Sacrifice is No Substitute for Obedience
Obeying God When It Makes No Sense
The Loneliness of the Christian
50 year old prophecy from Tozer
The Pursuit of God

_____

Shiloh
By Tim Shey

Brutal deathdance;
My eyes weep blood.
Pharisees smile like vipers,
They laugh and mock their venom:
Blind snakes leading
The deaf and dumb multitude.

Where are my friends?
The landscape is dry and desolate.
They have stretched my shredded body
On this humiliating tree.

The hands that healed
And the feet that brought good news
They have pierced
With their fierce hatred.

The man-made whip
That opened up my back
Preaches from a proper pulpit.
They sit in comfort:
That vacant-eyed congregation.
The respected, demon-possessed reverend
Forks his tongue
Scratching itchy ears
While Cain bludgeons
Abel into silence.

My flesh in tattered pieces
Clots red and cold and sticks
To the rough-hewn timber
That props up my limp, vertical carcase
Between heaven and earth.
My life drips and puddles
Below my feet,
As I gaze down dizzily
On merciless eyes and dagger teeth.

The chapter-and-versed wolves
Jeer and taunt me.
Their sheepwool clothing
Is stained black with the furious violence
Of their heart of stone.
They worship me in lip service,
But I confess,
I never knew them
(Though they are my creation).

My tongue tastes like ashes:
It sticks to the roof of my mouth.
I am so thirsty.
This famine is too much for me.
The bulls of Bashan have bled me white.
Papa, into your hands
I commend my Spirit.

Ethos
February/March 1997
Iowa State University

Genesis 49: 10: “The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be.”

12 responses to “A.W. Tozer Quote

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: A few words of kindness | Transient Reflections

  2. Thank you my friend, you are a wonderful example of taking up your cross and following Him!

  3. Pingback: A.W. Tozer : Deliverance from “Me” « The Christian Gazette

  4. Pingback: A Report on First Day of GTCA « gtcontario

  5. Pingback: A Parable about Lukewarm, American Christianity | The Road

  6. Wow. Does “effete” come from the same root word as “effeminate”? Both seem to describe the church

  7. Yes, I believe “effete” is related to the word “effeminate”. We as Christians are called to be warriors for Christ. We are not here to play paddy cake with the world and the devil.

Leave a comment