A Pleasant Memory   Leave a comment

Navajo Reservation

Even though I really don’t care to hitchhike, hitchhiking has been God’s will for my life the past 16 years.  Many great things have happened on the road:  conversations with the people that pick me up, the revelations that the Lord has given me, the acts of kindness by strangers.  The backpack that I am using was given to me by a friend in Wyoming.  Many people have bought me something to eat or have kicked me down a few bucks to help me out.  The Lord really provides for you on the road.

I have hitchhiked across the Navajo Reservation in northeast Arizona a number of times.  Usually, I would be heading south out of Moab, Utah on U.S. 191.  Then I would connect with U.S. 160, pass through Kayenta and Tuba City and then take U.S. 89 to Flagstaff.  There is a really nice Christian mission on San Francisco Street in Flagstaff–I have stayed there a few times during the winter.

One time I was walking west on U.S. 160 east of Kayenta and I looked to my right.  I saw this little girl–she may have been 10 years old–and she was running towards me from her house.  The house was a few hundred yards from the highway.  I stopped on the shoulder and waited for her.  She ran up to me and gave me a can of pop.

She smiled at me and said, “This is for you.”

I smiled and replied, “Thank you.”

She then ran back to her house.

Sometimes it is the little things in life that a man remembers most.

Leave a comment