Lemhi, Idaho   2 comments

lemhi

16 December 2015

It is great how the Lord orders our steps.  Last night I camped out on the east side of Salmon, Idaho.  It got down to 20 degrees F, but I stayed warm.  As I walked southeast out of Salmon, it started snowing.  There was more snow on the ground in Salmon than in Hamilton, Montana.

I got a ride with a guy who said that he was going all the way to Leadore.  Just beyond Lemhi, he changed his mind and let me off near this cattle ranch.  He turned his pickup around and drove back to his house.  Lemni is eighteen miles from Leadore.

I began walking towards Leadore and then I decided to walk back to the store at Lemhi and put on my long underwear because I was getting cold.  I walked into the store and met Bob, the postmaster, and he said that I could put on my long underwear in the back room.

A few minutes later, I met June who owned the store.  We had a great talk about hitchhiking and the will of God.  She was very interested in my two books.

I asked June if she knew a lady that lived in Salmon; her name was Lucille.  Lucille picked me up hitchhiking between Stanley and Challis, Idaho back in 2007.  We later had a prayer meeting and then I headed up into Montana.  In 2010, I saw Lucille again at the Four Square Church in Salmon and she remembered me.

I told June that I had a chapter in my second book entitled “Lucille” and that I would love to have Lucille read that chapter someday.  June said that she would try to look up Lucille and give her a photocopy of that chapter for her to read (it is also posted on my blog The Road).

I later learned in our conversation that I had met Bob a couple of years before.  I was staying with a family south of Salmon and Bob’s family invited the other family and myself over for supper.

I am writing this post at a gas station here in Sugar City, Idaho.  The lady that works here at the gas station told me that she and her ex-husband gave me a ride from St. Anthony to Ashton a couple of years ago.  She said that they told me that I had to ride in the back of the pickup because the cab was too crowded (she felt bad that I had to ride in the back of the pickup).  I told her that I have ridden in the back of all kinds of pickups over the years and that I appreciated the ride.

Idaho

Photo by June McKinney

2 responses to “Lemhi, Idaho

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello brother, as usual, it is so nice to read your entries. I pray you are having a blessed Christmas season, take care and go with God in Christ Jesus our Lord!

    • I’m doing pretty good. We got some snow here in western Montana in the past couple of days. Right now I am in Missoula. I should be heading south towards Idaho later today. God bless you and have a very blessed Christmas.

Leave a Reply

