George Fox and the Power of God   3 comments

power3

This is from The Missing Cross to Purity:

From Fox’s Journal:

(Fox Speaking.) To one meeting came a great man, a priest, and many professors*; but the Lord’s power came over them all, and they went their way peaceably. There came a man to that meeting, who had been at one before, and raised a false accusation against me, and made a noise up and down the country, reporting, that I said I was Christ; which was utterly false. When I came to Gainsborough, where a Friend had been declaring truth in the market, the town and market people were all in an uproar. I went into a friendly man’s house, and the people rushed in after me; so that the house was filled with professors, disputers, and rude people. This false accuser came in, and charged me openly before the people, that I said I was Christ, and he had witnesses to prove it.  This accusation put the people into such a rage, that they could barely keep their hands off me. Then was I moved of the Lord God to stand up upon the table, in the eternal power of God, and tell the people, ‘that Christ was in them, except they were reprobates [sin still lives in them]; and that it was Christ, the eternal power of God, that spoke in me at that time unto them; NOT that I was CHRIST.’ And the people were generally satisfied, except the false accuser, a professor, and his own false witnesses. I called the accuser Judas, and was moved to tell him that Judas’s end should be his; and that that was the word of the Lord and of Christ through me to him. The Lord’s power came over all, and quieted the minds of the people, and they departed in peace. But this Judas shortly after hanged himself, and a stake was driven into his grave. (From Matthew  27:5, Then he threw down the pieces of silver in the temple and departed, and went and hanged himself.)

[*A professor, in the days of George Fox (1624-1691), was someone who professed Jesus Christ–not necessarily someone who had a relationship with Jesus Christ.]

Josephus on John the Baptist

3 responses to “George Fox and the Power of God

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good share

  2. Pingback: Obedience | A Pastor's Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Smith Wigglesworth and the Power of God | The Road

Leave a comment