The Knowledge of Christ Cannot Be Received by Natural Understanding   6 comments

232a869f0362a252605ac7635144bc7a

This is from The Missing Cross to Purity:

“The knowledge of Christ is not literal, traditional, or fleshly, nor can it be received by the natural understanding; but it is spiritual, and the understanding must be given by God which receives it. “He has given us an understanding, that we may know him who is true.” 1 John 5:20. A man may read scriptures, hear sermons, etc., and thereby gather a knowledge into the old understanding: but neither this understanding into which the knowledge is gathered, nor the knowledge itself that is gathered, are spiritual, but fleshly, and so cannot save. He who comes once to receive an understanding from Christ, and to have the knowledge of Christ poured forth from Christ into his heart, knows the difference between that and the understanding into which he gathers things. The knowledge of Christ after the letter, (and a faith in him answerable to such knowledge), will not save; but a man must know him in that Spirit, life, and power in which he lived, if he is firmly established in hope to be saved by him, (2 Cor 5:16-17).

“[All things are delivered to me by my Father; and no man knows the Son but the Father, neither does any man know the Father except the Son, and anyone to whom the Son wills to reveal him. Mat 11:27. The Father and the Son are only known through revelation, by the son revealing him; for the Son and the Father are one. Because what may be known of God is revealed in them; for God has shown it to them, Rom 1:19; not reading about God, not hearing someone talk about God, for God and Christ are known by only revelation in your heart, where you hear him and see him teach you about sin, righteousness, and himself.]”

–Isaac Penington

The Babylonish Church
Thumbnail Biography of Isaac Penington
Resisting and Receiving God’s Spirit, Experiencing His Teachings

6 responses to “The Knowledge of Christ Cannot Be Received by Natural Understanding

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Tim. God called me back to my blog after a long rest.
    Excellent scripture to purify ourselves.

    If you get a chance:
    I had a dream this am:
    https://themadjewess.wordpress.com/2020/01/22/apocalyptic-dream-i-had-about-las-vegas/

  2. Paulette: Good to hear from you again. Here is a dream that I also had this morning:

    22 January 2020

    Last night I had a dream where I was in this room with around ten other men.  We were sitting on the floor:  some of the men had their hands tied and some men were wearing handcuffs.  It looked like I was the only one with his hands untied. There was this man with a revolver in his hand–he was holding everyone hostage.  I found a metal object and threw it at his head.  He fell down and was knocked out temporarily.  I walked over and took the revolver out of his hand.  He came to and was very angry with me.  I took the revolver (it was loaded) and pointed it at the top of his head and fired.  This did not kill him, but knocked him out again temporarily.  He came to again and I demanded that he hand over his keys.  He reached into his pocket and gave me his keys.  I then freed all the hostages.

    The last scene:  one of the men who was with me in the room used his phone to call the cops and have them arrest the guy who kept us hostage.

    I believe this dream means that the Lord has freed me from demonic bondage and that He will use me to help others get freed from demonic bondage.

    New Testament Circumcision

    • Wow, Tim. Thats great! I pray the Lord will open all the ears and eyes of every person you come in contact with..that they will be set free. That an opening in peoples spirits would happen ALL around you. In Jesus name.

  3. Every person in my life has been shut out of my life. Even a person I was in the ministry with. As of now, I have ONE friend, my hubby. And, even he is still a stubborn Jew. I feel like Hosea 😢

  4. (Edit: My husband is a Great person, just very stubborn with the things of God. Too logical. Its nothing I dont already advise him of. I love him very much. )

Leave a comment