Wearing a Rough Garment   24 comments

john - baptist

John the Baptist

Dreams from the LORD 2007-2010
20 November 2010

Last night I had a disturbing dream. I was wearing a rough garment—it was brown; it looked like it was a robe made out of burlap. I wore a belt around my waist. I looked like John the Baptist or else I felt like John the Baptist. Everywhere I went people became very angry at me. I would say something and then people would violently reject me. Sometimes I would walk to where people were gathering and I wouldn’t say anything—just my walking into their air space angered them.

Then there was this one guy: he was short and mean-looking. He had a whip. The whip had a wooden handle and several strips of cord attached to the top of it; on the end of each strip of cord was a nail: it looked like the cat-of-nine-tails. This guy hated my guts. Two or three times during the dream he would come after me and whip me. The dream was long; most of the details are gone from me now.

The odd thing about this dream was that when it was over, it was played over again—like a movie reel. The exact same dream was repeated twice. This reminds me of that Scripture: “In the mouth of two or three witnesses let every word be established.” So whatever this dream means, it is established. Or maybe it means that it will happen soon.

Genesis 41: 32: “And for that the dream was doubled unto Pharaoh twice; it is because the thing is established by God, and God will shortly bring it to pass.”

In my life, because of my Christian faith, I have been rejected by family, friends and church people, so this dream makes sense.

[The short, mean-looking guy in the dream looked EXACTLY like a so-called Christian that I met in Absarokee, Montana:  Jack Burwell.  He thinks he is saved because he studies the Bible.  Jack Burwell rejects Christ.]

A Prophet’s Eyes
Obedience: The Bondage Breaker
Locusts and Wild Honey
What should we learn from the life of John the Baptist?
Scribes and Prophets
John the Baptist
Blow The Trumpet In Zion
The Spirit of a Prophet
The Gates of Hell
Eaten by Dogs
The Importance of the Prophetic
True & False Prophets
The Wisdom of Faith

A Prophetess from Minnesota

The Attractiveness of Godly, Fearless, Manliness

_____

The Spirit of a Prophet

Prophet Elijah
.
.

“Preachers make pulpits famous; prophets make prisons famous.”

–Leonard Ravenhill

To the Preacher
Prayer is the Secret
Go Hide Thyself
John the Baptist
Prophet Elijah
The Idolatry of Intelligence
Leonard Ravenhill Quotes
The Cost of Discipleship
Picture of a Prophet
Wearing a Rough Garment
Prophetic Purpose
The Real Cost

“They were prophets, not scribes, for the scribe tells us what he has read, and the prophet tells us what he has seen.”

–A.W. Tozer

“Let a thing here be noted, that the prophet of God sometimes may teach treason against kings, and yet neither he nor such as obey the word, spoken in the Lord’s name by him, offend God.”

–John Knox

“If ye were not strangers here, the dogs of the world would not bark at you”

–Samuel Rutherford

24 responses to “Wearing a Rough Garment

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have one small question. Have you had any of your dreams come true. Specifically I am thinking of visions.

  2. I mostly have dreams from the Lord when I am sleeping. I am guessing that I have had a few day visions. I remember one day vision that came to pass.

    The above dream where I was dressed as John the Baptist–being rejected by church people–has been happening in my life for many years now. Some of my dreams have come to pass. In August of 2000, I had a dream where I saw George W. Bush, Dick Cheney and myself; I knew that George Bush would become President after that dream. I had a dream in 1990, where I saw a young lady have a miscarriage; that miscarriage happened in January of 1991.

    Some of my dreams are about some event that will happen in the future (I am thinking of the Las Vegas Earthquake dream). I have had a lot of dreams from the Lord; it is hard to remember them all right now. If you go to my High Plains Drifter blog, you can read some of my dreams (Dreams from the Lord 2003-2010).

  3. I was just wondering since I remember you posting an earlier dream about the upcoming election.

  4. Here is the dream. We will see if it comes to pass.

    “Mitt Romney, President of the United States”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2011/07/mitt-romney-president-of-united-states.html

  5. Pingback: Locusts and Wild Honey « The Road

  6. Matthew 11: 7-19: ” And as they departed, Jesus began to say unto the multitudes concerning John, What went ye out into the wilderness to see? A reed shaken with the wind? But what went ye out for to see? A man clothed in soft raiment? behold, they that wear soft clothing are in kings’ houses. But what went ye out for to see? A prophet? yea, I say unto you, and more than a prophet. For this is he, of whom it is written, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee. Verily I say unto you, Among them that are born of women there hath not risen a greater than John the Baptist: notwithstanding he that is least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he. And from the days of John the Baptist until now the kingdom of heaven suffereth violence, and the violent take it by force. For all the prophets and the law prophesied until John. And if ye will receive it, this is Elias, which was for to come. He that hath ears to hear, let him hear. But whereunto shall I liken this generation? It is like unto children sitting in the markets, and calling unto their fellows, And saying, We have piped unto you, and ye have not danced; we have mourned unto you, and ye have not lamented. For John came neither eating nor drinking, and they say, He hath a devil. The Son of man came eating and drinking, and they say, Behold a man gluttonous, and a winebibber, a friend of publicans and sinners. But wisdom is justified of her children.”

  7. Pingback: A Brief Recognition of New England’s Errand into the Wilderness | The Road

  8. I can relate TOTALLY.

    MANY times, I have given words that were not fun at all. Many friends, family, etc have turned their backs on me.
    Right now, I am in a quiet place and maybe in a few months, God will release me to speak boldly again. I hope.
    I am not afraid.

    Regarding Mitt Romney:

    When the election came, it was **GODS** WILL that Romney was President. Prophecies fail because *mankind* fails. God does not fail. God does not lie. MAN lies. MAN steals. God is ALWAYS true.

    He also gave me a STRONG inclination (I guess that’s the word) that Romney was going to be the Pres. I said nothing, but I don’t know why..

    You can see that Romney was Gods choice, (maybe not his best, but HIS choice, nonetheless) but that does NOT stop the devil from stealing… Look at Obama, he is a daily embarrassment and TOTAL PROOF that God did NOT want him at all. He is a CURSE and an abomination to God.

    BUT, Romney also dumps on Putin. (Putin ain’t perfect, no one is) but God is WITH Putin for as long as Putin keeps God around HIM. Putin is in the right and America, again, is wrong.

    We will pay for the bloodshed we keep bringing to the planet, 55 million dead babies, ‘gay’ marriage. God AINT happy with the USA.

    The MAD Jewess
  9. About the dream about Mitt Romney: the dream did not say WHEN Romney would become President. Maybe he will be President in 2016.

  10. But, even if he does not, Tim, it does not mean that he is not the man God actually intended for 2012.
    Obama is punishment. Judgment.

    The MAD Jewess
  11. Pingback: A Prophet’s Eyes | The Road

  12. Pingback: The Hand of God | The Road

  13. Pingback: Josephus on John the Baptist | The Road

  14. Pingback: EXPOSING THE POSERS: Why Prophets and Truth-Tellers are Subject to Such Intense Hate and Hostility | The Road

  15. Pingback: Modern Christianity is Careful Not to Oppose Sin | The Road

  16. Wow man, I actually have the conviction I’m somewhat like that Jack. I really have to repent and start having zeal for holiness.

  17. Pingback: Hog Pen Christianity | The Road

  18. Pingback: William Lloyd Garrison | The Road

  19. Pingback: The Spirit of a True Prophet | The Road

  20. Pingback: The Death of Hillary Clinton | The Road

  21. Pingback: Christ Reigns in the Hearts of His People | The Road

  22. Pingback: The Trial of a Prophet | The Road

  23. Pingback: The Saint Must Walk Alone | The Road

  24. Pingback: Unbelievers are Intimidated by the Presence of God | The Road

Leave a comment