Walls of Jericho Revisited   2 comments

walls-of-jericho-falling_500x327

The Israelites marching around the walls of Jericho

Joshua 6:3-5:  “And ye shall compass the city, all ye men of war, and go round about the city once. Thus shalt thou do six days.  And seven priests shall bear before the ark seven trumpets of rams’ horns: and the seventh day ye shall compass the city seven times, and the priests shall blow with the trumpets.  And it shall come to pass, that when they make a long blast with the ram’s horn, and when ye hear the sound of the trumpet, all the people shall shout with a great shout; and the wall of the city shall fall down flat, and the people shall ascend up every man straight before him.”

Joshua 6:20:  “So the people shouted when they blew with the trumpets:  and it came to pass, when the people heard the sound of the trumpet, and the people shouted with a great shout, that the wall fell down flat, so that the people went up into the city, every man straight before him, and they took the city.”

Hebrews 11:30:  “By faith the walls of Jericho fell down, after they were compassed about seven days.”

Physical warfare in the Old Testament is a foreshadowing of spiritual warfare in the New Testament.

I am sure that there are manifold reasons why the Lord has had me hitchhike the United States for most of the past seventeen years.  One of the reasons is that my hitchhiking is fasting and prayer.  Most people think of fasting as fasting from physical food.  The lifestyle of fasting that I am talking about is fasting from the world system, lukewarm churches and the traditions of men that make void the Word of God.

In my experience, whenever I obey the Lord, I am delivered of a demon or maybe several demons.  I have been delivered of maybe hundreds of demons in my hitchhiking travels and many curses have been broken in my body and soul (I don’t believe that a demon can oppress or possess the spirit of a man—just the soul and the body).

Obedience, in our Christian walk of faith, is the great catalyst or the great mover and shaker of the spiritual realm.  Most Christians are justified by faith and that is about it for their walk with God.  The few Christians that are living in the Kingdom or New Jerusalem on this earth, are walking the narrow walk of obedience to the Father.  The Kingdom is obedience, obedience is the Kingdom (“thy will be done, thy Kingdom come, on earth as it is in heaven”).  Time and time again I have told the Lord that all of this hitchhiking seems crazy and when do I get to die and go back home to heaven because this world is so strange to me and I really don’t fit in the world or even the church system.  But, of course, I am on this earth to please my Father and not myself.  All of this obedience (hitchhiking) glorifies my Father and it has delivered me of many deep-rooted demonic strongholds.

The city of Jericho back in Joshua’s day was a physical, demonic stronghold.  The generational curses and other curses in my body is/were a spiritual, demonic stronghold—and we defeat this stronghold through obedience to the Lord.  And it takes many years to be set free (“work out your salvation with fear and trembling”, “take up your cross and follow me”).  As you can see, I am not into this instantsalvationspeak:  justification by faith is instant, salvation is not.

The more the Christian believer is freed up from demonic bondage in the body and soul, the more the believer can affect powerful change in the heavenlies:  destroying Satan’s work and hindering principalities and powers of darkness.

The life is the sermon, the life is the witness:  when you see me, you see the Father.

Jericho (A Dream)
New Testament Circumcision
The Spiritual Man
Walls of Jericho
Obedience:  The Bondage Breaker
Strongholds
spiritualwarzone

WASHINGTON, DC IS A GHOST TOWN

2 responses to “Walls of Jericho Revisited

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tim, thank you for visiting my new blog! I’m enjoying your thoughts, especially, “The lifestyle of fasting that I am talking about is fasting from the world system, lukewarm churches and the traditions of men that make void the Word of God.” Amen! We haven’t taken to the road, but my husband and I are also on a lifelong fast from the very same snares that you speak of. I look forward to exploring your blog further.

  2. White Raiment: I discovered your blog yesterday and read two posts and they were excellent. I hope to read more of your blog in the future.

Leave a comment