A Letter from Israel   5 comments

QTHj11013290

A few weeks ago, I hitchhiked from California to Wyoming.  I stayed with some friends in Wyoming for a few days.  They had some letters in a box that they were keeping for me.  I took these letters with me as I hitchhiked back west.

One of the letters was from Gideon Elazar from Tsfat*, Israel near the Sea of Galilee; Gideon gave me a ride while I was hitchhiking west out of Helena, Montana back in August 2004:

1.11.04

Dear Tim.

I wanted to let you know that I received the disc with the book you wrote [High Plains Drifter:  A Hitchhiking Journey Across America].  I read it all and enjoyed it very much.  It was a view of America that I had not seen before.  As I told you when we met, I too have done some hitchhiking in Israel and in Europe and I knew what it’s like to live on people’s kindness and on God’s grace.  I think many people have a perception of the U.S. as a place full of dangerous people and would be surprised to hear about all the really good people you met.

I hope you are well, but I’m not worried because I know you’re being taken care of.

Be well and God bless,

Gideon

*also known as Safed or Zefat

Search for Jews of Kaifeng
Being Jewish in China
Being Jewish in China (video)
Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel
China is reversing the Decline and Fall of Christianity
Bereshith
Zion
Jewish Life After Death
Ancient Chinese Community Celebrates Its Jewish Roots, and Passover
Only Israel
Someone by Roni Dalumi
The supernatural protection of Israel
The Khazar Myth Debunked – Latter Days Ministry
Gideon Elazar – Ben Gurion University of the Negev

War in Gaza illustrates that knowledge and morality are not even distant cousins

5 responses to “A Letter from Israel

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is such a blessing to be remembered… what a wonderful HUG from God! 😀

  2. At one time, I thought I had lost that letter from Gideon. I remember we had an intense talk about the things of God and he gave me some food for the road. He dropped me off at Garrison, Montana.

  3. Pingback: Bereshith | The Road

  4. Pingback: Yom Kippur | The Road

  5. Pingback: A Letter from Dustin | The Road

Leave a comment